In 1998, the state rate became the same as the federal rate: $5.15 per hour. The rates have equalled each other since then.
The current minimum wage rate, $7.25 per hour, has been in effect since July 24, 2009.
Municipality Minimum Wage Laws
No county, city or other political subdivision of the state can establish a minimum wage rate that exceeds the state rate, according to Idaho Code Sec. 44-1502.
Idaho Minimum Wage Exemptions
The following employees are exempt from Idaho minimum wage rules:
Executive, administrative or professional employees.
Workers engaged in domestic service.
A seasonal employee of a non-profit camping program.
A minor under 16 years old working part time or at odd jobs not exceeding four hours per day with one employer.
Certain individuals employed in agriculture.
Idaho Posting Requirements
Unemployment and Disability Insurance
Idaho Law Prohibits Discrimination
Tipped Wage in Idaho
An employee who customarily and regularly earns more than $30 per month in tips may be paid $3.35 per hour. However, the employer’s cash wage plus the tip rate must equal at least the minimum wage. If it does not, the employer must make up the difference.
Overtime Wage in Idaho
When an employee works more than 40 hours in a workweek, employers must pay that person time-and-a-half the regular rate of pay for all hours worked beyond 40.
Child Labor Laws in Idaho
Minors under the age of 16 can’t work more than 54 hours per week or more than nine hours per day. In addition, they can’t work before 6 a.m. or after 9 p.m.
Employer Recordkeeping Requirements
Idaho employers should make sure they’re following the federal Fair Labor Standards Act requirements for recordkeeping. That means employers must retain:
Each employee's full name and Social Security number.
Address, including zip code.
Birth date, if younger than 19.
Sex and occupation.
Time and day of week when employee's workweek begins.
Hours worked each day.
Total hours worked each workweek.
Basis on which employee's wages are paid.
Regular hourly pay rate.
Total daily or weekly straight-time earnings.
Total overtime earnings for the workweek.
All additions to or deductions from the employee's wages.
Total wages paid each pay period.
Date of payment and the pay period covered by the payment.
Recent Idaho Labor Law Updates
Idaho Law Prohibits Discrimination - May 2018
The Idaho Human Rights Commission updated its antidiscrimination poster.
Idaho Labor Law Questions & Answers
Does an employer have to pay unused vacation time in Idaho?
Employers should follow their own policies regarding unused, accrued vacation payouts at the time of termination.
Do small businesses have to pay minimum wage?
Yes, small businesses in Idaho are subject to the minimum wage.
How many hours can a minor work in Idaho?
For employees under 16 years old, time worked must be limited to 54 hours per week and nine hours per day.
Is overtime mandatory in Idaho?
Employers can schedule employees to work overtime unless a contract or agreement says otherwise. The overtime rate must be paid for hours exceeding 40 in one workweek.
Are lunch breaks required by law in Idaho?
No, employers don’t have to provide meal periods or other breaks under state law. However, employers must follow their own policies regarding lunch breaks.
We want you to be completely satisfied with your purchase. If you need to return or exchange an item, please contact us within 30 days of receipt of your purchase so that we can help you. Items must be returned in new and unused condition with the original invoice. Return shipping costs will be at the customer’s expense. Please note our outbound shipping costs will be deducted from your return refund. Returns will be inspected prior to issuing a refund. In the event you wish to cancel your multi-year service you may be entitled to a prorated refund based on the dates of your contract.
Our Customer Service Representatives are happy to assist you with any return or exchange at (800) 226-2327.