Overtime Wage in Missouri
As with federal law, Missouri law sets up an overtime rate of at least one-and-a-half times the employee's regular rate of pay. That kicks in once the employee has worked more than 40 hours in a workweek. There's no requirement to pay overtime on a daily basis under state wage-and-hour laws.
Amusement or recreation businesses that meet certain criteria don't have to pay overtime until their employees work over 52 hours in a workweek.
Sometimes employees say they'll waive their rights to overtime pay, but neither federal nor state law allows employers to take them up on that offer – and of course, businesses can't make such a request of workers.
Certain employees, however, who are exempt from overtime under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act, are likewise exempt under Missouri law. That includes workers holding bona fide executive, administrative or professional positions, as well as workers who hold outside sales positions.
In addition to wage-and-hour laws, businesses should consider the requirements of the state's Prevailing Wage Law.
HB 1729 brought changes to prevailing wages in 2018. Now employers involved in public works construction projects need to pay overtime if an employee's hours exceed 10 hours in a day and/or 40 hours in a workweek.